I’m delighted to announce that my very own ‘Scottish Songbook’ will be released on Friday 2nd August! A personal take on a clutch of Scottish pop classics that span fifty years, I’ll have loads of exciting stuff to share with you soon. You can now pre-order on vinyl, CD or limited edition cassette.

Award-winning songwriter and folk singer Karine Polwart reimagines a clutch of beloved songs that cut across fifty years of Scottish pop. Eighties classics from Deacon Blue, The Waterboys and Big Country sit alongside the stadium balladry of Biffy Clyro, while maverick legend Ivor Cutler rubs shoulders with the electro pop of Chvrches and the immaculate song craft of John Martyn. 

Recorded at Chem 19, Karine Polwart’s Scottish Songbook features regular band mates Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson, with Graeme Smillie (bass and keys), Calum McIntyre (kit and percussion) and Louis Abbott of Admiral Fallow (vocals, guitar & percussion). 

Karine says, “To me, these are songs of resilience and resistance, cries of despair and dreams of something better. They’re pop songs, but also love songs to people and places we all recognise. They totally fill my heart up”. 


Dignity (Deacon Blue) 
The Mother We Share (Chvrches) 
Women Of The World (Ivor Cutler) 
Whole Of The Moon (Waterboys) 
Machines (Biffy Clyro) 
Don't Want to Know (John Martyn) 
Chance (Big Country) 
Swim Until You Can’t See Land (Frightened Rabbit) 
Since Yesterday (Strawberry Switchblade) 
Rags To Riches (Blue Nile) 
Whatever’s Written In Your Heart (Gerry Rafferty) 

*Please note the tracklisting may change.