BBC Radio 2 Folk Singer Of The Year 2018, Karine Polwart is a multi-award-winning Scottish songwriter and musician, as well as a theatre maker, storyteller, spoken-word performer and published essayist. Her songs combine folk influences and myth with themes as diverse as Donald Trump’s corporate megalomania, Charles Darwin’s family life and the complexities of modern parenthood. She sings traditional songs too and writes to commission for theatre, animation and thematic collaborative projects. Karine is six-times winner at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, including twice for Best Original Song.  

In association with The Royal Lyceum Theatre and Edinburgh International Festival 2016, Karine wrote, musically directed, and performed Wind Resistance, her critically acclaimed debut work for theatre. A poetic meditation on midwifery, ecology, sanctuary, and solidarity, it combines elements of memoir, essay, myth, sound art and song. Wind Resistance won the BEST MUSIC & SOUND AWARD at the CATS (Critics Awards for Theatre in Scotland) 2017 and Karine was also shortlisted for the BEST ACTOR 'Scottish Oscar' in the Sunday Herald Culture Awards.

Join our mailing list for the latest news



UNCUT 8/10 "Easily her most ambitious record to date. Considered, compassionate and intricate..."

THE OBSERVER ★★★★ "Assured and atmospheric"

THE ARTS DESK ★★★★ "Strong, empathic songs as full and rounded as the globe itself"


Read more

Next Shows

THE LOST WORDS (featuring Karine)

QEH , Southbank, LONDON SE1 8XX

The Lost Words - A Spell Book by writer Robert Macfarlane and artist Jackie Morris. Described by the Guardian as a ‘cultural phenomenon’ this book holds “spells of many kinds that might just, by the old strong magic of being spoken aloud, unfold dreams and songs, and summon lost words back into the mouth and the mind’s eye”.

The Lost Words – Spell Songs is a new musical companion piece to The Lost Words book where musicians will indeed be unfolding the “dreams and songs” living within the pages of the book.

Featuring : Karine Polwart Julie Fowlis Seckou Keita Kris Drever Kerry Andrew Rachel Newton Beth Porter Jim Molyneux